Search

Home > Students > PhD Students

PhD Students

Surname, Name Thesis Title Email
Bardenhorst, Ms Marelise A qualitative and quantitative analysis of the long-term effects of Acute Spinal Cord Injuries in South African Rugby union players BDNMAR010@myuct.ac.za
Bartels, Mrs Clare The Siketha Ukuba Nempilo (SUN) (We choose to be healthy) Project Clare.Bartels@gmail.com
Bezuidenhout, Ms Nicole The effects of high fructose feeding and exercise on the regulation of Sirt3 in rat skeletal muscle BZDNIC004@myuct.ac.za
Breed, Dr Dorothy Understanding the underlying mechanisms of capture myopathy Dorothy.Breed@gmail.com
Beckley, Ms Sam The association between collagen gene variations and knee laxity SamBeckley@gmail.com
Clamp, Ms Louise   louiseclamp@btinternet.com
Coetzee, Mr Devon   Thedevster@live.co.za
Cook, Ms Caylee Executive function in preschool children from low-income settings in South Africa CKXCAY001@myuct.ac.za
Dove, Ms Mary-Ann Socio-ecological factors in talent development of cricketers in a diverse society Adove@mweb.co.za
Dutton, Ms Megan The Cricketing Shoulder: Biomechanics and analysis of potential injury risk factors to the shoulder in elite cricketers megandutton@gmail.com
Ellman, Ms Nicole Adipose tissue oxidative stress and antioxidant systems and its association with insulin resistance Nicole.kneekey.ellman@gmail.com
Evans, Mr Robert

The effect of robotic walking and exercise activity-based rehabilitation on muscle activity, health-related benefits, functional capacity and psychological well-being in persons with spinal cord injury (SCI)

Robertevanssa@gmail.com
Firfirey, Mrs Firzana   firzanafirfirey@gmail.com
George, Ms Siddiqah Regulation of LCAD and SIRT3 by NAD+ in skeletal muscle of fructose-fed rats GRGSID001@myuct.ac.za
Gibbon, Ms Andrea The application of next generation sequencing technologies and bioinformatic tools to further charactrise the genetic risk profile of musculoskeletal soft tissue injuries GBBAND005@myuct.ac.za
Henning, Mr Franclo Mechanisms of weakness in idiopathic inflammatory myopathies: an in vitro single muscle fibre contractility study fhenning@sun.ac.za
Henst, Mr Rob A medium-term sleep-extension intervention to improve the health profile in South African overweight and obese individuals RobHenst@hotmail.com
Hill, Mr Lee Genetic Risk Factors for Muskuloskeletal Injuries HLLLEE004@myuct.ac.za
Holiday, Ms Wendy An analysis of intrinsic factors, performance, comfort and economy in relation to static and dynamic whole body kinematics in recreational and elite cyclists Wendzh@gmail.com
Johansson, Rebecca   rejohansson@gmail.com
Kotze, Ms Liske The effects of adipose tissue extracellular matrix components on insulin sensitivity in black and white South African women Liske.Kotze@gmail.com
Lubega, Mr Samuel Best medical care practice in sports in underdeveloped and developing countries ; focusing on Uganda Lubegasmlk41@gmail.com
McFie, Ms Sarah   Sarah.Mcfie@uct.ac.za
Phiri, Ms Lindo The effect of a 12 week exercise training intervention on body composition, metabolic risk factors, habitual physical activity and sedentary behaviour in obese black South African women phiri_lindokuhle@yahoo.com
Pienaar, Ms Paula The health risk profiles of corporate employees in South Africa: lifestyle behaviours and clinical measures of Non-communicable diseases (NCD) PNRPAU001@myuct.ac.za
Ramnath, Mr Udhir Physical Activity, Fitness, Functional Ability and Cognitive Performance in South African Older Adults RMUDH001@uct.ac.za
Sewry, Ms Nicola Effectiveness and Efficacy of the BokSmart Safe Six Nsewry@ssisa.com
Solomon, Dr Salih Outrunning a bad diet: a study of the prevalence of pre-diabetes amongst runners, and evaluating the effect of a low carbohydrate diet on pre-diabetes in runners salihsolomon@gmail.com
Tomaz, Ms Simone Physical activity and gross motor skills in South African rural preschool children TMZSIM001@myuct.ac.za
Van Breda, Ms Keelyn The Influence of methylphenidate on brain activity in high and low activity individuals VBRKEE001@myuct.ac.za
Venhorst, Dr Andreas Psychophysiological determinants of pacing during prolonged endurance exercise Andreas.Venhorst@gmail.com
Webster, Mr Christopher (Chris)

Gluconeogenesis and insulin resistance in type 2 diabetics following a low carbohydrate high fat diet

Topher.webster@gmail.com
Willard, Mr Kyle The functional effects of proteoglycan polymorphisms on musculoskeletal soft tissue injuries WLLKYL002@myuct.ac.za